Chance of disease transmission

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DOL8873

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I’m a dental student and today my finger was stabbed by a bur :(

Situation:
Restoring a Class V missing restoration. No decay present. Prepped retention grooves in enamel only with #1/4 or #1/2 (very tiny) round bur with water. I placed the handpiece back in its holder and proceeded to adjust the water of the handpiece, in doing so I struck the round bur with my finger, puncturing through my glove and skin. Pt is low risk and answered NO to HIV, Hep A,B,C.

Now that I’m home and thinking about the situation I’m starting to stress. I know having the pts blood drawn will eliminate my stress, if negative. But I’m also not sure if the pt will agree to having it done. Also, if the pt does agree it could be a week or 2 before they can be tested.

I feel the chance of transmission is pretty low in this case. But of course I’m still worried. What do you think??

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Super low chances, happens to dentists all the time. There's really only two we're concerned about, HepC and HIV, and now there's a cure for most forms of HepC. Transmission rate of HepC is like 0.05% with a blood droplet. Even if they are HIV positive with a high viral load (most HIV patients that are undergoing standard treatment have a near ZERO viral load) the transmission rate for a needle stick is something like 0.01%. If you told me you got blood spatter in your eyes, I'd be more concerned, but even if there was blood on the bur I wouldn't be too concerned. Did you follow you schools sharps protocol? That's the most important thing at this point.