MD & DO ~~cGPA: 3.74. MCAT 28~~ What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

uaFM

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi guys I am applying this spring and I would like to know what my chances are for MD and DO

GPA: 3.74 (I can slightly improve it at the end of this semester possibly)
MCAT : 28 (9v/10p/9b) I had also taken MCAT last year and got a 25 with 10 from bio :(
Experience:
40h volunteering in the E.R
84h internship at the university health center + 84 more hours next fall semester so approximately 170h
80h shadowing a physician in a foreign country (thought this might be interesting)
60h volunteering with kids with special needs
40h independent study (dissecting cadavers)

Male, Caucasian,
I speak 3 languages fluently (en, fr, tr)
I was born and raised in a foreign country but I am a permanent resident in the U.S

I am wondering if I should even bother applying to MD schools or should I only go for DO? I am considering pediatrics and neuro as possible residencies.

I also have a question. I know that many DO schools require a LOR from a MD or a DO. Would the physician that I shadowed overseas cover MD/DO LOR? I mean even though she did not go to school in the US, shes a doctor.

Thanks. :)

For DO you should be fine. That letter is good but try and get a DO letter if you can. LECOM requires a DO letter. PEDs and neuro is very attainable as a DO so no worries there. I would try to just make up a good list of DO schools. Try 7 or so. Also for MD depending on your state you could have a shot but its not great. I applied DO only as i was interested in osteopathic medicine so im not overly familiar with MD admissions. The wise @gyngyn could help you. But either way both roads lead to Rome so good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
State of residence?
Is the internship clinical?
Experience with US physicians?
Sorry
State is California