CCOM or Public health

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Inkoate

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I have to make a decision soon about where I should go to school this fall. It is between CCOM and three public health schools (UIC, Yale, and Michigan).

I am an Illinois resident now with around a 3.6 GPA and a 31 MCAT. I lived in SC throughout my schooling, all the way up to college. I actually was looking forward to going to MUSC this fall. I conducted summer research there three times. I had an MD/PhD interview last December. When I did not get accepted to thqt program, MUSC gave me an interview late in the interview season for MD, and unfortunately, I was not accepted this time for the MD program. It was disappointing. I applied to MUSC twice before this season with a lower MCAT. But after college, I improved my score, worked for a clinical research group, volunteered inthe hospital, and tutored for nearly two years. Anyways, I will find out tomorrow if I am on the alternate list.

I applied to public health schools and DO schools just in case this happened. I like CCOM mostly because it's very close to where I live now, and also, it's highly reputed among DO schools and the Midwest region in general. The thing is that after second year, there is very little time to study for boards (i think they said two weeks). Plus, it seemed like students constantly had tests, which seems a little counterproductive if you have to neglect one subject to study for a test in another subject.