CC student and 17

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Drdoctor_m

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting; therefore, I don't even know of I'm doing it right.

I just have some questions regarding my standing.

I am 17 years old and a pre-med. I would like an MD and a doctorate in healthcare administration.

I'm in a middle college program and I will get my associates degree when I'm 18, my BS when I'm 20 and hopefully my MD-DHA no later than 26. I just wanted to know if anybody knew about how med school would be different for me.

I'm really just trying to find people in a similar situation to get some perspective on how to approach everything.

So far, it's been pretty hard because nobody wants to let a minor shadow them even though I'm a sophomore in college. It has also been a challenge getting ready for the MCAT since my school doesn't offer pre-med advising.

Anything would help. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

May I know why you set an age limit for yourself - getting MD-DHA no later than 26? I am more than twice as old as you are, and I am not yet in med school. You sound in such a hurry. You are posting here, a discussion section for non-trads. Of course, I totally believe that a young genius who starts and finishes med school super early can also be considered "non-traditional" too. But you can see that the majority of people here are way older when we (re)-consider our journey to medical training. We take our time, and let our lives take us to different places before we head (back) to medicine. So now we bring our own experiences, knowledge, and skills from our previous journeys to medicine. Not speaking for other people, I have enjoyed every moment of my prior careers. Can you say a little bit more why you want to complete your two doctorates before turning 27?

Reactions: 1 user
That is amazing!

17 and already in college?

Dude. Keep it up!