Carotid neurointervention

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hamhock

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How common is carotid access for MCA intervention or ICA stenting?

How often in your hospital?

Do you know of other centers where docs insert catheters through the carotid artery for neurointervention?

HH

Members don't see this ad.

Do you know of other centers where docs insert catheters through the carotid artery for neurointervention?

HH
Please note: I am a medical student... I've done a few months of NIR/IR rotations and shadowing. I dont think I have yet seen a procedure where access the the vascular system was gained through the carotids.

Most of the time, an infra-inguinal femoral approach was used w/ a micro-puncture kit, and wires were snaked up through the carotids. I know that a radial access can and has been used before too, but it is much less common.

I think the problem with carotid access is that it's a fairly large caliber vessel, and the risk of excessive hemorrhage is higher than with femoral access... I can imagine micro puncture spraying blood everywhere.

HH

Never, to my knowledge. Definitely never for MCA intervention, because I know all those guys. Not sure if the vascular surgeons have ever done a CCA puncture for an ICA stent, but I doubt it. You need a pretty big shuttle to deploy a stent+DPD, which would make for a pretty huge hole in the neck (and carotid). Also, going in that distal doesn't leave you much room to work, particularly in the ICA.

The issues are: 1) risk of dissection leading to stroke (bad), 2) risk of pseudoaneurysm leading to airway compromise (bad, seen it after CEA and required emergent surgical airway below the lesion), 3) cosmesis, 4) are you going to leave a sheath in there post-procedure?, 5) how do you hold pressure after the procedure?

Members don't see this ad :)