Caribbean MD's - Hard to get Good Residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JustinG

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a CA resident, applying to Caribbean as a backup, instead of doing postbacc/SMP. I hear that many Caribb med schools are becoming a popular alternative to DO, and so if I choose the Caribb MD route, when I come back to the US, will my chances of getting a residency ANYWHERE in the US be affected, even if I graduate with high stats? What about landing a residency in CA?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a CA resident, applying to Caribbean as a backup, instead of doing postbacc/SMP. I hear that many Caribb med schools are becoming a popular alternative to DO, and so if I choose the Caribb MD route, when I come back to the US, will my chances of getting a residency ANYWHERE in the US be affected, even if I graduate with high stats? What about landing a residency in CA?

Thanks!

Yes, and yes...

One of the first posts you are going to get is "do a search." You may also get, "check ValueMD"

Both good suggestions.

I will say that getting back to CA will be very difficult unless you take a year off between medical school and residency due to requirements for work. In order to apply for the documents you need to apply for residency you need a medical school diploma which you get in June, but you were supposed to apply for residency back in November. I've heard of a few places in CA that will just trust that you will be approved, but I wouldn't count on it.

Also, there is a stigma associated with the Caribbean.

I once worked with a residency director at UC Davis before medical school and he said to me, "Whatever you do, don't go to a Caribbean school, that will follow you your whole career." Anecdotal, sure, but straight from the mouth of one of the people you would hope to pick you.

Thanks!