Career planning question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

engineer16

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd year student planning on matching into radiology but I'm having some concerns about the future of the specialty. Things about radiology that interest me include the potential for technological changes within my lifetime and the large volume of cases compared to other specialties. Radiology looks like a field that can only grow, it's not as though medicine will become any less relying on imaging to diagnose and treat. At the same time I'm afraid of choosing radiology having read multiple posts (not just on SDN) about how the field is in decline and we'll all be making pennies per case some day. I am truly excited about the prospect of a career in radiology and I don't mean to come off as gloomy before I even finish medical school. Even though average step scores for the field have held steady, interest among students in the field is in decline, both anecdotally and in the number applicants. Many threads here have broached this issue without answering my central question: is it relatively foolish to apply for radiology right now?

Thanks for reading, I appreciate your thoughts.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know anything about compensation but competitiveness for radiology increased last year and has increased again this year.

Members don't see this ad :)