Career hop - UC Denver

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Naos

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm completely new to the forums and relatively new to the idea of being a PharmD student.

I graduated with my B.Arch in 2006 and I've been working ever since. Starting in spring 2012 I'll be headed back to school at UC Denver to pick up all of the math/science prerequisites that I didn't have from my first go at school.

I was hoping to get some opinions from everyone, and maybe a few students who attended UC.

When I spoke with admissions, the adviser told me that over anything a high PCAT and GPA stands out. However, I keep seeing a lot of talk about volunteering and shadowing. I haven't seen a thing on the CU admissions page about it, nor did the adviser mention it in any way. I could likely volunteer while doing my pre-pharm, but I currently have no experience with it because I've been... well... working :p

Should I volunteer? Is there anything else a relative pharmD newb should know?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I'm completely new to the forums and relatively new to the idea of being a PharmD student.

I graduated with my B.Arch in 2006 and I've been working ever since. Starting in spring 2012 I'll be headed back to school at UC Denver to pick up all of the math/science prerequisites that I didn't have from my first go at school.

I was hoping to get some opinions from everyone, and maybe a few students who attended UC.

When I spoke with admissions, the adviser told me that over anything a high PCAT and GPA stands out. However, I keep seeing a lot of talk about volunteering and shadowing. I haven't seen a thing on the CU admissions page about it, nor did the adviser mention it in any way. I could likely volunteer while doing my pre-pharm, but I currently have no experience with it because I've been... well... working :p