This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ralphcifaretto13

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I know there are many threads on this very topic but I wanted to try and gain some insight as it applies to my particular situation (although not entirely unique).

I am a 26-year-old accountant that graduated with a Bachelors and Masters in Accounting concurrently in 2015, as well as a Business Law minor. Upon graduating, I obtained my CPA license (still active) and worked at a Big 4 accounting firm for 2 years. This past summer, I left public accounting to work for a prominent investment management company. My cumulative uGPA was a 3.55, and my cumulative graduate GPA (reflective of Master's classes) was 3.37. I am heavily interested in applying to Post-Bacc programs in the Philadelphia area as they are plentiful. As of now, I have no volunteer/shadowing experience but have reached out to several hospitals in the area and hope to hear back regarding these opportunities soon. My overall goal as I see it now would be to leave my job and enroll in a rigorous one-year Post-Bacc program and then subsequently take the MCAT. Given my background, and assuming undertaking as many volunteering hours as I may be able to find, is this transition feasible?

My main question surrounds how a Post-Bacc program will view my uGPA as well as having achieved both a Masters and CPA license. I know that work experience, regardless of field, is viewed favorably in the admissions process. I'm fairly new to exploring this path and would appreciate any advice or resources that could be provided.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I’m in a very similar situation (23 y/o with a job in Big 4) and I’ve asked for advice from a lot of people, so I’ll do my best to relay the info onto you: