Career Change - Computers to Psych.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The Frog

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a BS degree in Computer Science and Mathematics roughly 7 years ago and have been working in a field that is only somewhat related for the past 6 years. I don't much care for what I have been doing and also don't much care for the field of my degree, and so I would like to make a career change. I have found that I have a talent for understanding people and wanting to help them understand themselves better, and I am thinking a career in clinical psychology may be a good place for me.

That said, I am looking for any advice people here may be able to give on my most "time-effective" method of moving in that direction. I have a family and cringe at the prospect of having to go all the way through another UG degree before I can hope to get into a PsyD program. Is there another way (such as taking a few psychology classes) that might take less time and money and yet still prepare me for Graduate study?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Unless you have direct experience in the area, research experience, and a strong CV, you will not be competitive for even the interview stage for a doctoral level program. I'd suggest looking at the MA/MS level first, and if you do well and get more experience, you may be able to pursue further education.

Look into masters level community or marriage and family counseling. In many states you can be licensed to practice independently with only a masters. Alternatively, a social work degree may also accomplish your goals in a timely manner.

Members don't see this ad :)