Career Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sylvia06

Reaction score
Hello,

I would like some career advice.

In May of 2019 I graduated from Texas A&M University with a B.S in Psychological and Brain Sciences. The classes I enjoyed most during my time in school were physiological psychology, the psychology of learning and memory and somatosensory psychology. Naturally, as someone who is trying to find out what to do with his/her life, I looked up what careers existed dealing with these areas of science. The career paths I found of research assistant, scientist, professor, or medical consultant were not exciting or appealing to me at all. It wasn’t so much the act of researching or learning that deterred me, but the fact that I would be stuck inside a building all day doing the same thing over and over again. I also wanted a career in which I could directly help people and personally see them progress. I didn’t want to help them behind a microscope lens and never get the direct therapy satisfaction.

I am also a very active person who loves the outdoors and I get extremely anxious/unsettled if I do not get sunlight and am not constantly moving around and/or doing something hands-on. I realized this was part of my personality and not just a childhood phase when I got a job at a hospital as a physical therapy technician around 3 years ago. I worked as a tech for 2.5 years. I really enjoyed the work, but I would often stare out of the window and wonder when I would get to go outside again. I remember coming home feeling like I wasted the entire day doing nothing, even though I really wasn’t wasting the day. I realized then that even if I am helping people, and doing what I loved, I wouldn’t be happy if I couldn’t integrate that with being active and the outdoors.