Career advice on PTA Vs. OTA and Masters of OT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BubbleGumDreams

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm looking for a little bit of advice. I graduated with a Bachelor's in Education with a 4.0. I would say that I was an above-average student because I know that I could call any of my previous professors and ask for a great recommendation later. (I'm very fortunate for that!). I taught English abroad and will be teaching with the Fulbright program which I know is pretty prestigious. After the Fulbright, I'm trying to figure out what to do. I'll try to explain what I'm looking for in a career (and what I'm not looking for) and hopefully you all can help steer me in the right direction!

I liked teaching in theory, and I enjoyed interacting with the students, especially in small group settings. However, I didn't like all of the politics of the education reform; I know that all work settings have politics, but things are getting difficult in the education realm. It's kind of hard to explain how bad it's gotten to an 'insider' because you almost have to be in the trenches to see what's happening. Also, while I was good at planning lessons (I got a lot of compliments on my creativity), it was a huge time sink and I could never leave work at work. I was taking lots of work home with me each day and it left me feeling burned out before I really even started my career. Even the veteran teachers tell me that the school systems demand so much and that if you can get out of the field, do it.