Cardiology-A-Fib question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Paramedic22

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All! Quick question.... I have been a paramedic for 4 years in a very busy municiple system. Today I had a call, and a brain cramp at the same time. I still haven't been able to shake the brain cramp. Here's the call: 50 yo male ANO X3, c/o sudden onset dizziness and a 'chest fluttering' (palpitations) feeling in his chest. He also had slight chest pain, 3 out of 10. HR 100-130 (obvious A-fib on the monitor) B/P 118/70 RR 18 Skin=W+D. 12 lead showed nothing of interest (except for the obvious A-Fib again). Pt has a history of A-Fib. Now, patients who possibly are in A-Fib all the time are prone to throw clots if you break it correct? So, would I be right in believing that treating the A-Fib with cardizem and thinking a Sinus rhythm would be more efficient and relieve the C.P.? Pt doesn't know if he is always in A-Fib, and doesn't know what his meds are. Or, should I treat the C.P., and leave the A-Fib alone....? I don't want him to start drooling half way to the hospital because I induced a stroke.
Fortunately, it worked out... I treated the C.P., because I made up in my mind the A-Fib was his normal perfusing rhythm, and got him to the hospital.... But now I am second guessing myself.

Members don't see this ad.