Can't find anyone to shadow N.Y area

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mp5491

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a pre-dental student at Hunter College, and it seems that no one in my area wants to have me shadow them. I've called several dental offices and they keep telling that they'll call me back, I've even visited the offices in person and the front desk just asked for my info and never got back to me. Seems hopeless. I live in Queens,NY if anyone can tell me where they shadowed in the Queens area and how they asked, it would be a great help. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I would advise you to either wait till they get back to you, EG one to two weeks, or keep on calling. You can PM me and I could try and get you connected to the dentist I'm currently shadowing. his office should be real close to Hunter.

Reactions: 1 user
You can't find a dentist to shadow in the NYC area...?

Members don't see this ad :)
Yep, they never call you back. I never had a single office call me back when I was looking for someone to shadow.

So here's the thing. Most dental receptionists have no idea what "shadowing" is. When none of the offices called me back, or flat out rejected me saying "Sorry, we don't offer shadowing," it meant they had no idea what I was talking about. I then became more proactive. I dressed in business casual clothes (scrubs would work too, they might work better in fact), printed out a stack of resumes with the objective plainly stated, and went to all the dental clinics in the vicinity of my house.