(CANADA) Does poor Grad School GPA matter?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

samuel9166

Reaction score
Long story short, I am a Canadian in my late 20s that holds two undergrad degrees. I partied a bit too much during my first bachelor (BSc in biology) but smarten up during my second degree (BA in health sciences) which resulted in a steep upward GPA trend; I started with a 2.3 GPA during my 2nd year of BSc then finished with a perfect 4.0 GPA full course load for 6 semesters straight during my BA. Currently, I am in my last semester of Masters of Physiotherapy degree (MPT) with an cGPA of 3.7 (A-), I started the program strong but later struggled with constant migraine and diplopia (as confirmed by my neuro-ophthalmologist) which drastically impacted my grades near the end of my program. I now have my symptoms well managed with visual rehab and corrective lenses. However, I am hoping to apply into medical school as I realize now my dream is to be a MD. My physiotherapy placements at the hospital working with physiatrists and family physicians further confirmed this. Will my poor grad school GPA impact my chances of admission into Canadian med schools? I heard some schools in Ontario claim to not look at GPAs from master's programs.

ps: I am confident that I can ace my MCAT and am very seasoned with the CASPer and MMI processes.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

You might have more luck with Canada-specific questions over at premed101. For your specific question, most Canadian schools do not look at graduate GPA, but some do, like UBC if I recall. There isn't that many english language schools in Canada and each have slightly different GPA weighing schemes so its worth it to go to each school's site and see how the math works out with your transcript for each school to see if you have a shot there.

Did you just call a 3.7 GPA weak?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)