Can someone help me decide which summer job to pick that's best for veterinary school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chihuahuawhisperer

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

So just a bit of background: I'm a 4th year student, hoping to apply this year (perhaps next) to vet school. I'm doing a 5th year to get my GPA up (had a bad first year) and by the end of that year, I should be in good shape GPA-wise. I'm from B.C., Canada, so my goal is to get into WCVM.

Currently, I have about 1000+ hours volunteering at a veterinary practice and working at an emergency vet clinic, and more by the time I apply. I went on an international trip (Loop abroad) and got some experience caring for exotics, farm animals, as well as veterinary experience (maybe 80-100 hours I cant remember off the top of my head). Basically, I'm worried my app is lacking in animal experience. First 2-3 years of undergrad, I was unsure of my path and I did volunteering at hospitals, care homes, as a reading buddy, clinical research assistant (w/ pubs) etc. I feel like I have a good amount of veterinary experience, but I'm hoping to get more experience in other areas. SO here's my dilemma:

My prof runs a repro lab for dairy cows, and welcomed me to volunteer with him. It's difficult because the dairy science centre is about a 2h drive away from campus, so I'm not able to do much right now. My TA mentioned that the farm is hiring for the summer to take care of the cattle, and after shifts I could help out with research-related activities (if I wasnt too tired is what he said).

SO option 1:

1. I take this position as a farm worker, live on the student housing, get lots of experience with farm animals, maybe research too.
Cons: I can't take my dog with me for this position