Can someone explain RVu to me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

perita

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am in my interview trail for my first job and I have encounter all types of Salary offers.
Something like X or RVU whichever is best
The first 18 months Salary and the last 18 RVU
Salary + production

I have research that Medicare paid 32.75 per RVU , how can a employer pay 60 per RVU? They have to make some money somehow.

I get kind of nervous when they offer RVUs because I have no clue how they are calculated. If I see 25 patients a day, how many RVUs will that be ?

If I work as a Heart Failure Physician, how can they calculate the RVUs?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hospitals make money from facility fees, private insurance, etc. 25 patients a day could be 50 RVUs, or more or less, depends on new vs follow-up, complexity, inpatient vs outpatient, etc. RVUs are calculated the same whether you're HF, general or whatever, just depends on the work you're doing and how much of it you do.

Hi everyone, I am in my interview trail for my first job and I have encounter all types of Salary offers.
Something like X or RVU whichever is best
The first 18 months Salary and the last 18 RVU
Salary + production

I have research that Medicare paid 32.75 per RVU , how can a employer pay 60 per RVU? They have to make some money somehow.

I get can of nervous when they offers RVUs because I have not clue how they are calculated. If I see 25 patients a day, how many RVUs will that be ?

If I work as a Heart Failure Physician, how can they calculate the RVUs?

Thanks

It's good to ask questions but you need to take a few hours and do research regarding work RVUs so you can understand potential compensation structures.