Can I get into Heme-Onc with a step 1 of 215?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MrMimeGuy

Reaction score
I'm currently an M4 student at a low-tier MD school hoping to get into Oncology. I'd initially been on the path of Rad Onc (still may do it), but considering the disarray that the field is currently in I'm going to do a rotation in Heme-Onc in a couple months to see how I like it and will likely dual apply to IM and Rad Onc.

Thing is, my step 1 is poor (215). I really enjoyed IM during my 3rd year and for a long time thought that's what I was going to do, but ultimately I think I've decided I'd be unhappy remaining a hospitalist, so I want to do everything I can to ensure I get into Heme-Onc if I choose to go down this path. If I go into IM, I will be 100% intent on applying for Heme-Onc and I'd really appreciate any and all advice to make sure I'll match.

Will my step 1 filter me out of too many programs? I see for MDs the match rates are discouraging for my test scores (~70% match). I do have 4 publications already with numerous poster/oral presentations at state conferences and strong extracurriculars (student leader of a free low income clinic our school sponsors for a couple years), and I expect to continue getting more throughout residency. My step 1 was sorta a fluke since I had to take it during rotations because of COVID, and I've been an above average student for M3 year, but I'd like to assume for the sake of the argument that my step 2 is also below average.

I'm willing to attend any IM or Heme-Onc program in the nation so long as it sets me up for success. I'd prefer to stay in the pacific western region if possible, but I have no intent on going into academics and would probably prefer community programs honestly. I can get the letters, schmooze the Heme-Oncs associated with my IM program, and I'll work hard to get multiple pubs during residency.