Can a radiologist from europe get fellowship postitin in the US?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aalsyg

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a radiology resident from Denmark and will be completing the 5 year residency programme in 2016.

I have passed the USMLE step 1 and 2 CK in 2007. I am planning to take my Step 2 CS exam this year ( to get the ECFMG certification before the 7 year time limit is over):idea:.

I am planning to do fellowship in neuro-radiology or vascular/interventional radiology after completing the radiology residency here.:idea:

My questions are-

1. Do I need to take Step 3 too ( to possibly apply for fellowship in 2016, before the 7 year limit for USMLE score validity period is over? )

2. Do medical schools/hospitals consider foreign graduates with their MD radiology from europe to apply for fellowship programmes in neuro or interventional radiology ?

3. Is it possible to take step 3 during fellowship?

Thank you very much in advance. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If you want to stay in the US after the fellowship it is better to do the step 3 in case you get into a program that sponsors H1 visa but if you are willing to go back to Denmark when you are done no need to do the step 3.
You have chances for sure but to increase them I recommend you to do observerships in radiology in the US and get recommendation letters that could help you for sure.
I know IMGs that did radiology outside of the US and got 7 to 10 interviews of radiology (one of them got interventional)

If you want to stay in the US after the fellowship it is better to do the step 3 in case you get into a program that sponsors H1 visa but if you are willing to go back to Denmark when you are done no need to do the step 3.