Can a PA open their own clinic/practice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

redence

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm interested in the PA profession but at the same time also interested in business, so I was wondering if a PA could open up their own practice, what about in New York? I heard that they need a MD supervising them. Who would get the money? Would the PA's have to pay the doctor(s) the most of the money? Or like 90% goes to the PA since its their business and 10% goes to the doctor? Who would be in charge? the PA or the MD? I would be interested in starting a derm clinic.

Members don't see this ad.

Why not become a MD or a DO. If you want independent practice that would be the most logical step.

Reactions: 1 user
What one can do in New York depends on their laws there, and I have no knowledge about what regulations they have their regarding supervision.