California licensing requirements - 15+ out of school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dred Pirate

Pharmacist
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long story short, I looked into this a while back on this forum- but a new opportunity presented itself that was at least interesting enough to grab my attention.

I graduated 15+ years ago have - in order to get a Cali license I know I have to take the CJPE - one guy at work said I would have to take the NAPLEX since I am 5+ years out- but when I looked at their site it said as long as I took it after January 1, 2004- I didn't (I took it June 2004). But the PDF file referenced on their website was from 2010- so figure I would ask all yall cali experts.

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Long story short, I looked into this a while back on this forum- but a new opportunity presented itself that was at least interesting enough to grab my attention.

I graduated 15+ years ago have - in order to get a Cali license I know I have to take the CJPE - one guy at work said I would have to take the NAPLEX since I am 5+ years out- but when I looked at their site it said as long as I took it after January 1, 2004- I didn't (I took it June 2004). But the PDF file referenced on their website was from 2010- so figure I would ask all yall cali experts.

thanks

My mentor had to take it because she graduated in 2002. I think you’ll be able to score transfer from your original license.

thanks

https://www.pharmacy.ca.gov/applicants/cpje_naplex_results_valid.pdf

Has passed the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) on or after January 1, 2004, and holds an active pharmacist license in another state or territory of the United States

Assuming you're licensed in another state, your score is still good.

PS: We're not looking at the same job again are we?

Members don't see this ad :)
https://www.pharmacy.ca.gov/applicants/cpje_naplex_results_valid.pdf