Calculating salary vs cost of living/ moving out of state

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bluecolourskies

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an EC psychologist and looking for advice. I currently live in a high cost of living area, but I wanted to settle down somewhere with 1) warm weather that is not California 2)lower cost of living so I could buy a decent home that isn’t an obscene price.

I was browsing listings for psychologists jobs for different states (correctional and state hospital settings) and I was a little shocked by the much lower pay scale. It was something like $43,000 to 85,000 for a Psychologist 1 position??

Now I realize these states have a lower cost of living but how much lower is it? Is this because Psych 1 jobs can sometimes be filled by not licensed but just license eligible people? Is there a way to get hired to where you automatically start at the higher end of the scale?

I know I live in a very high cost of living state so the state psych job salaries reflect that. but hoo boy.

I would also love to talk to some of the people in these jobs, to see what they think about their work environment, etc. Where do I find people like that- LinkedIn? and is that a weird thing to ask people?

My plan was to get a postdoc in said warm states but that didn’t pan out, and now I think maybe I am crazy for wanting to move across the country randomly like this (at least thats what my family says). I don’t expect to stay in a state job forever but it would be nice to have a steady income when I first move and think about next career steps.

Members don't see this ad.