CA resident, 3.6, 36S question about list of schools to apply to

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

imcanadaian

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I've been working hard these past few days trying to get things together to apply this upcoming cycle in June, and one of the big hurdles I've been trying to get over is finalizing a list of schools I want to apply to so I can start reaching out and researching in depth, see if I have friends or connections, and just overall get a better feel for the schools I'm applying to so it's not a huge crapshoot come application time.

I'm a CA resident, graduating from UC Berkeley in 2009. I've spent the first year out of college teaching MCAT's for Kaplan, and then transitioned to my current job at a CRO where I analyze patient brain MRI's for an Alzheimer's clinical trial. I recently re-took my MCAT (since it expired..) and am going into the application process with the following:

3.6 cGPA
3.6 sGPA
36S MCAT (12V 12PS 12BS)
EC's (reverse chronological):
post-college
-currently shadowing a neuroradiologist ~16hrs a month for the past 7 months
-currently a volunteer at the hospital ER (150+ hours)
-I'm taking a medical microbio course at UC Extension - doing well thus far so hope I get an A!
-volunteer at a weekly urban community education program (4hr/wk)
-volunteer in Church Children's Ministry, leadership, community outreach events (we host these family nights for local urban families), etc
-interned for one year as a campus ministry intern immediately upon graduating college
college
-Intern at Bayer healthcare for a summer
-Chemistry tutor
-Health educator for local high schools
-4-year leader in on-campus Christian Fellowship
-three years of research in neuroscience and Alzheimer's
-Volunteer at local literacy project