Buying Into a Practice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PointyNippers

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am planning to buy into a practice in August once my associate contract expires. The doc that's retired is working on a proposal for sale of his stock.

This is my first time treading these waters. What are some essential things to know/do for this situation?

I will most likely be getting a loan to buy into the practice, will I need to form an LLC and apply for an SBA loan afterward? Or is there a better way to do this?

Will I need to pay to get another appraisal done on my own, or should I just get a lawyer to review the retired doc's proposal?

Sorry if these are dumb questions, any advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Another source for information might also be that Facebook group called IPED. There are some folks on there that have done this.

Good luck!

100% have lawyer read contract. A buddy of mine bought "shares" of pp and when he left the practice he discovered the owner had heavily diluted the shares resulting in decreased value. He lost $100k of value when he left. Sad but common story in Podiatry.

I believe "shares" are a scam unless part of a large MSG where there is an actual K1 distribution and more transparency about collections and profit.

If the doc is retired the practice is only worth the building (if owned) and the equipment (chairs, instrumentation, etc). The patient base is not owned and is worthless if another group opens up next door. If you pay anything over that you are getting taken for a ride.

If it were me I would go out on my own. No shenanigans and 100% transparency because you are the owner.

Reactions: 7 users
Members don't see this ad :)
What are some essential things to know/do for this situation?

1683828048681.jpeg