Buying a house vs renting while in dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LidocaineMane32

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a nontraditional student that is quitting their job and starting dental school this summer. I already own a home and my family will stay back while I move away to school. I’m back and fourth in buying another house vs renting. It seems like I could get more bang for my buck with buying a house but it also comes with the risks of home repairs and selling once I graduate. Anyone here have any advice on what they did?

Note: I do not plan on staying around my school once I graduate

Members don't see this ad.

I’m a nontraditional student that is quitting their job and starting dental school this summer. I already own a home and my family will stay back while I move away to school. I’m back and fourth in buying another house vs renting. It seems like I could get more bang for my buck with buying a house but it also comes with the risks of home repairs and selling once I graduate. Anyone here have any advice on what they did?

If I had the capital going in I’d probably buy a condo, live there for four years, and then sell. If your family is not going to be living there you could also rent out a bedroom to another classmate for more gain.

Reactions: 1 users

Depends on what is available in the area. If you can get something that is relatively new/renovated and for a good price then may be worth it.