Buying a car with loan?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

adamMD

MS-4
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This might be a dumb question, but my car is breaking down on me and I'm 15K in debt already. Does anyone know if the loans we get in med school would be enough to finance a car?

Also, seeing that I'll probably make good $ as a doctor I'm hoping to be able to get a new mustang or something like that. Is this simply ludicrous? I feel I would be rewarding myself for getting into med school. Future Adam, that rich bastard, can surely afford the bill.

Members don't see this ad.

This might be a dumb question, but my car is breaking down on me and I'm 15K in debt already. Does anyone know if the loans we get in med school would be enough to finance a car?

Also, seeing that I'll probably make good $ as a doctor I'm hoping to be able to get a new mustang or something like that. Is this simply ludicrous? I feel I would be rewarding myself for getting into med school. Future Adam, that rich bastard, can surely afford the bill.

If you plan on living in a cardboard box and/or buying another sh*tty car.

From what I understand, you'd have to take out a personal loan- Stafford loans can't be used to pay for cars (and some other types of expenses).

Members don't see this ad :)
No. From what I understand, schools consider you to be starting debt-free, which means pay off your car and pay off you credit cards. I suppose you can live in cheap housing with 3 roommates with no internet and no cable TV, eating pasta nightly and put that money toward a car payment, but it doesn't sound fun.