Burnout vs. Job satisfaction

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MrQuinn

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a 3rd year student going through some deep introspection right now trying to find myself a specialty. Nearly two thirds of my life I have wanted to be an emergency physician, and my clinical experiences in the ED have only strengthened that, however I am deeply, deeply concerned with the nearly 2/3 of EPs who say they are burned out. The article posted on the front page only does more to aggravate that hesitation of mine.

My question, however, is that at the same time I also see that emergency physicians consistently rank near the top in terms of job satisfaction (4th or 5th in most surveys I've read), and I'm wondering if anyone has any theories or reasons as to why that is? EPs are the most burned out, but the most satisfied? I'm not sure I understand what the dynamic is here.

Not looking for any concrete answers, I'd just like to get some of your thoughts. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I think EM docs tend to be very cognizant, vocal, realistic about the problems facing EM and the relentless barrage of government regulations, consumer minded health care, drug seekers, social issues, malpractice is exhausting - though I definitely do not think that these are problems solely related to EM. Despite all of this, I work like 3, maybe 4 shifts a week, I come home and don't have to worry about being on call, I make plenty of money to support my family, there are many shifts that are entirely unremarkable, but there are many that excite me and remind me why I chose this specialty in this first place. There is a fair amount of research on EM burnout as well, being more involved in admin or EM policy making, local ACEP all increase job satisfaction. I would not let "burnout" scare you away.