This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pseudofeds

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I know this is long but I created this thread years before the application process so to continuously gain feedback on my pre-med profile. I am an undergraduate (semester 2) attending The Pennsylvania State University. During High School I did not care much for extracurricular activities. However, now I do. This is my current (and still in production) pre-med profile.

School: The Pennsylvania State University, '20. Biochemistry and Molecular biology. HONORS PROGRAM.
Clubs: Student Government Association Representative for Berks Chemical Society - A chapter of the American Chemical Society (Is this a leadership role? Without me representing the club at meetings the club's status would become "Inactive")
Research: 2 Projects. Both starting this semester. Papers and presentations already promised.
1st: Deals with the SP10 Virus and Hay Bacillus. I think we're examining sporulation in the bacterium Bacillus subtilis.
2nd: Me and my professor in collaboration with a Florida University's (private) research team, will work on providing theoretical values for a substance that can retrieve phosphorus from other compounds as it is not a renewable resource (not at the rate we are using it). Ive heard this professor is so generous that if the Florida University was to publish their paper on this new substance, obviously my professor would be credited, but she would ask that my name be on the paper as well. I am already expected to go present a poster in San Francisco at an ACS meeting. Im thinking this could be really good since it is not only working with another university, but it is also private research and seems like a quite important substance. Not really relevant to anything medical though. Any thoughts on this?​
Volunteering: ED Department (4hrs/Sunday - starting Jan 12th, 2017).