Building a School List

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Go4Doc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm an aspiring MD/PhD student with plans on applying for the first time next summer. I'm extremely confident that this is the right type of program for me and according to some of the guides on this site I should be a pretty strong applicant. However, I am aware that this is the most competitive pre-health path in the country and I'm a little lost when it comes to where I should apply.

My main questions are:

How many schools should I apply to?
In terms of school prestige, how should I spread my applications?
I'm intrigued by the GPP option for MSTP. Is that something people would recommend? Why/ why not?
Do you have any schools that you'd personally recommend and/or think might be a good fit based on my information below?
Do you have any other advice that you think is pertinent for an applicant such as myself?

Below you'll find a summary of the noteworthy aspects of my application. Also, please let me know if my Stanford experience as described would count as either clinical and research experience as long as I don't double-count the hours.

Thank you in advance for your all of your help!

Numbers: MCAT of 521, cGPA of 3.82 (technically 3.817), sGPA of 3.75.
*NOTE* - Trend is upward, three of last four semesters were 4.0

Education: B.S. in Neuroscience; Minors in Psychology and Pharmacology; School: U of Minn - Twin Cities

Resident: CA

Honors: Summa cum laude from University Honors Program (entailed writing a thesis that summarized research I did while at the U), graduated with distinction, Phi Beta Kappa, Eagle Scout