Breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Florida_PreDent

Reaction score
Here is what I did to go from an 18AA and 16TS to a 20AA and 20TS! #breakdown
Background: I am a recent Biology graduate from Florida State University with a 3.61 GPA and 3.53 SGPA. I initially took my DAT last August, and to say it didn't go well was an understatement. I remember seeing 15 next to Biology and thinking how the hell did I manage to do so poorly in a subject I majored in for years. It was from this failure; however, that I learned what I needed to do differently to keep my dreams alive. With that here are three things that I wish someone would have told me before I took my DAT the first time and what I did differently to bring my score up.
1. Make the DAT your #1 priority. When I first took my DAT I was lifeguarding every morning from 5 am to 1 pm, shadowing from 2 pm to 5 pm, and trying to cram DAT prep in for the remainder of the day. This was horrible as I was constantly exhausted which resulted in me not being able to retain any information. Going into my retake I decided to focus solely on studying and this was the greatest decision I made. Not only was I able to retain much more information but I was genuinely happier throughout the process. Make this easy for yourself. Prior to when you plan to study save up as much money as you can to live off instead of working and eliminate any other distractions.
2. Keep living. Just because you’re studying doesn't mean you can't enjoy yourself. This exam will be tough on your mental health so you have to do things that make you happy. What I did to keep the morale high is I would study for four hours then lift or go surfing and then study for four more hours. Taking a break in between studying is crucial.