Brainstorming for an interactive 'intro to medicine' for HS students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sugeny

one day at a time
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, need some help on brainstorming.

I’m a senior med student, and my school just asked me to organize a one-hour interactive session for high-school kids interested in medicine.

My question: what would have caught your interest in high school?

some ideas my school suggested included the usual:
- suturing
- playing with ultrasound
- seeing cadavers
- stethoscopes with heart sounds

These are all pretty standard. Looking for some unique ideas too…I want it to be really cool, and to at least peak their interest in the medical field. Any suggestions would be super helpful.

Thanks a ton!

Members don't see this ad.

Assuming since you're showing them cadavers you will be at school. Do you have access to anesthesia simulator dummies? Running a fake code would have been fun to high school me.

Hey guys, need some help on brainstorming.

I’m a senior med student, and my school just asked me to organize a one-hour interactive session for high-school kids interested in medicine.

My question: what would have caught your interest in high school?

some ideas my school suggested included the usual:
- suturing
- playing with ultrasound
- seeing cadavers
- stethoscopes with heart sounds

These are all pretty standard. Looking for some unique ideas too…I want it to be really cool, and to at least peak their interest in the medical field. Any suggestions would be super helpful.

Thanks a ton!

I would think a field trip to the gross lab to see cadavers would involve lots of paperwork. But the other ideas sound good.

Members don't see this ad :)
I agree with cadaver lab not being the best idea. Dont know a lot of parents that would like their teenagers seeing a dead body. I like the other ideas though.
Some others: