Books for the beginner?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CBG23

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a medical student interested in plastic surgery. I was interested in learning some of the basics of plastic surgery and was wondering if there was a go to text for this kind of thing. I have heard that the Mich. manual was pretty good and obtained and a copy. However, it's outline format is not really conducive to easy reading. I was looking for something to maybe supplement it... Any suggestions?

Members don't see this ad.

Grabb and Smith's is a good text book with the first few chapters being great for beginners like myself. However, I think reading that book without actually seeing the surgeries themselves is not very useful. For example reading about cleft lips helps prepare for the case, but once you see a cleft lip repair it tends to make alot more sense where and why you are making the markings. I think focusing on sections I and II of grabb and smith's will help you in the long run.

Also check out plastic surgery secrets, I like it more than Michigan Manual

I second the Grabb and Smith nod -- it's been great to help me prepare for cases and also just to read up on general stuff.

As far as a pocketguide: I feel the same way as you about Michigan Manual -- doesn't flow right for me. UTSW's Essentials of Plastic Surgery is better, although a lot of it assumes you know the basics (ex: it doesn't exactly define a keloid, it just tells you how to treat it).

Members don't see this ad :)
I like UTSW's red book. If you know how to use Google sometimes, missing information shouldn't be an issue.