biz owner with aviation degree seeks change....advice helpful

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clearsky24

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Complete career change and looking for some advice. Here’s my situation……

Throughout most of college and for the past 6 years I have owned and operated a successful summer business (mid June-Labor Day) in Michigan. The wonderful thing is that it produces a net income of around $45,000 which allows me to pursue other endeavors during the rest of the year.
I graduated in 2005 with a degree in Aviation Management with a 3.64 GPA. I spent another year in college pursuing an advanced accounting degree and the other 2 years working and internship experiences in airport management to find out neither is not for me. I need a career that has an impact on people, ever changing and always learning, has ability to be one’s own boss eventually, and has excellent pay and so medcine has been in mind for some time. I spent time volunteering in the OR when I was in grade school.

I am 26, single and have no real ties except for mortgage and business which includes lots of equipment. My initial thought was I could almost pay cash for medical school if I could just have July through August off (two months)!! Are there medical schools that have this???? It appears to be wishful thinking but I would have 3 summers to save during postbacc.