Bison Mediastinum Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Phoenixrising24

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a medical student, and I was pimped recently by a thoracic surgeon--the question was "how were Native Americans so successful in stopping multi-ton buffalo with single arrow shots?" Answer, theoretically and substantiated only by hunting lore, is that some large percentage of bison do not have an intact mediastinal membrane, and thus what might ordinarily be a unilateral pneumothorax in fact becomes a complete bilateral pneumothorax, which accounts for the seemingly disproportionate injury from a single shot that penetrates into/through the pleural cavity.

After spending a couple of hours searching, I cannot find any reasonable atlas or peer-reviewed source that substantiates this (though there's a fair amount of medical literature on humans that references "buffalo chest"). Are there any DVMs or veterinary students who can comment or point me in the direction of some reliable resources?

Thanks in advance! :D

Members don't see this ad.

In canine anatomy we were taught that some species have fenestrated mediastinum. All I remember is that it is fenestrated in the dog leaving the possibility of bilateral pneumothorax unlike humans where it isnt. No idea off hand on buffalo.

And for a reference:

"Anatomy of Domestic Animals, 10th Ed." by Pasquini. Page 318 "In places the mediastinum is just formed by the contact between the two mediastinal pleurae. Such places may be fenestrated (perforated)."

Same page in a clinical box "Fenestrations or perforations in the mediastinum: normal in the dog, horse and sheep; not found in the ox, goat,pig or young animals of any species. In theory these could allow a unilateral pneumothorax or pyothorax to become bilateral."