Biophysics Grad Student in Texas

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jldub

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
The story of my life below is a re-post of my thread on the nontraditional student forum. Please feel free to skip to the bottom for my stats

I started college as a rad tech major and did 1 year of basic, 1 year of radiological sciences classes and then one summer of clinicals (40hrs a week working for free learning to take x-rays in "real life"). I decided that I couldn't see myself doing this for the rest of my life and wanted to do something more prestigious, for lack of a better word. I switched over to a BS in Physics program (same state school) and ended up graduating in 2011. As far as academics are concerned, I graduated with a 3.73 overall and a 4.0 in my science classes (mostly physics but I also took chemistry and A&P).

During my sophomore/junior year, my grandfather who I lived with and my wife's (then girlfriend) dad were both diagnosed with throat cancer. It was during this time that I considered specializing in medical physics or switching to pre-med but since I was already far along in my physics major I decided to stay that route. My grandfather eventually died from the cancer as it spread to his stomach and blood but my wife's dad fought it off.