biology degree, low GPA, any hope???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

missmai2

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi all,

i'm new to this and very impressed with this community.

my concern is how do med schools look at applicants who already fulfilled all of the pre-med requirements but did very poorly, THEN retake all classes in a post bacc program? (and assuming that post bacc scores are high).

any similar stories like this that ended in success?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I don't think they recommend retaking the pre-req. Take some other science classes and make sure that you are acing them. Med schools look at the trends and you have to demonstrate that you can handle the work. I am in a similar predicament and currenlty doing a post bac (for folks who need to strenghten their credentials). Some other folks opt to do a masters instead. But I heard stories about how med schools only look at undergrad GPAs, just my .02 cents. Good luck!

im a pre-dental student, and my friends in the dental forum always stress that a positive trend is of utmost importance. take a graduate degree program (not a post-bac) and do well. the post-bac will just be re-taking the classes you already know, where as the graduate program will show med schools you can handle the rigor, and that your low GPA doesn't accurately portray your true abilities. best luck

bus.;)

Members don't see this ad :)
pyau03 is right, what you need to do is find a post-bac program that you can take classes to 'enhance your existing academic record.' You need not take classes over--it is easy to get mixed up with the different types of post-bac programs that are out there.

pyau03, what program are you in currently?