Bilateral Bell's palsy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nadz

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,I'm a master student from Malaysia. I want to know if anyone come accross such a case of bilateral bell's palsy?
icon5.gif

Members don't see this ad.

Depends on whether you are asking about synchronous or metachronous lesions. For metachronous lesions, certainly Bell's can occur. The estimated incidence of recurrence is 12% and it's fairly well even between whether it occurs on the ipsilateral or contralateral side.

For synchronous lesions, I would not use Bell's palsy as a diagnosis unless all others have been excluded. The 2 most common causes of synchronous B CNVII paralysis are Guillaine-Barre and Sarcoidosis (at least that's the answer we use on our board exams). I've seen different references cite both as the leading cause. Other potential causes include Lyme disease, Bell's palsy, leukemia, bacterial meningitis, syphilis, leprosy, Moebius syndrome (although that one should be pretty obvious), infectious mononucleosis, and skull fracture. There may be more that are much more rare or of which I'm not aware, but that is a reasonable list. I know that in Asia there are some unusual syndromes that are more prevalent such as Vogt-Koyanagi-Harada disease and Machado-Jesoph disease which I know nothing about that can also cause B facial paralysis.

Hope that helps a little, not sure what you wanted to know. I personally have not seen B Facial Paralysis except in a 22yo African male who had non-HIV related massive base of skull endemic Kaposi's Sarcoma. He had lots of CN deficits though, not just VII.