Best Way to Prepare for PCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmDPotential

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've seen some threads that discuss about how to do well on the PCAT. But does anyone have any advice for preparation with the new PCAT? I know it's simply switched to the computers, but any advice would be very appreciated from how to study, what to focus on the most, etc.
Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

My friend took the PCAT twice, and he did much better on the reading section the second time around because he studied out of the MCAT book :p

I dropped money on one of those study courses(don't know forum rules too well bc I'm new so I don't want to recommend any and piss anyone off but I'm sure youve heard of them) and it gave me a solid study plan as well as homework and class time..in other words it gave me a ton of structure and specific areas to study on...I studied all July and August then went and took the pcat in early September...I did well enough to get accepted into school for fall 2012 so I think it was well worth the money.

Members don't see this ad :)
Having taken both the paper based and the computer based version I would say be prepared to use the strange plastic sheet things for scratch paper instead of the margins of a booklet. Also take the earplugs or headphones if offered. I remember how LOUD all the other people typing and clicking away sounded... haha... may sound ridiculous but it kinda feels like when there is a person with a runny nose sniffling throughout an exam and then slowly everyone with runny noses all start sniffling in unison or close to each other once someone else sniffles... maybe I'm just crazy but things like that can break my concentration after the marathon the PCAT is.