Best Classes Before DAT. Scheduling Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JCE96

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I am a sophomore, and after this semester I will taken
Calc 1 and stats
general chemistry 1&2
principles of bio 1&2
Organic 1
and several core classes

I am currently making my schedule for next semester and I plan to take
Organic 2
Cell Biology
Genetics
a core class

I also plan to take an additional class (most likely biochem) and study for the DAT next summer. I plan on taking the DAT the first week of August after I finish my summer class.
Are these classes sufficient to give me a good background of the material that will be on the DAT? There is a chance I will not be able to register for all these courses, so which biology courses are best to take? Any other ideas or information would be much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Yes. I would say Organic 2, Cell bio are most important. Followed by biochem then genetics. That's my opinion, though.

Reactions: 1 user
Definitely get Organic 2 in, that's a must. For the DAT, cell bio and biochem would both be important (although I didn't take cell bio, I'm a chem guy). IMO the only mandatory class before the DAT would be the organic 2, but I'm all for doing upper-level classes. I'd also caution against putting too much on your plate while studying for the DAT. It's different for everyone (studying for 2 weeks vs 4 months, working part time while studying, only studying, etc). Do what works for you. Your DAT score matters a lot.