This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anonnnnnnnnn123

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I'm a Canadian university student looking into UAG (the international med school in Guadalajara, Mexico). The thing is, I don't want to return to Canada-- I'd like to (ideally) become a plastic surgeon and work in Mexico. It seems to be pretty tough to find information on how to do this, as the program seems pretty US-oriented... I assume you become fluent in Spanish while you're there (I'm not fluent, currently). Does anyone know the process? Getting permanent residency in Mexico doesn't seem to be an issue, as my dad did it pretty easily (I've spent a lot of time there, and it's always been a dream of mine to live there).
Anyone know about the salary for plastic surgeons or dermatologists down there, as well as how competitive it is to become one compared to the states or canada? I wouldn't expect the same salary, but it's always good to know that I could live comfortably for all the schooling/money put into it.

Members don't see this ad.