Becoming a doctor in the US...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Loren

[email protected]
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Apologies if I seem ridiculously ignorant, but I'm confused about how to become a doctor in the US. I'm currently studying in London (UK) and I've received an offer to read medicine at Cambridge, but will possibly be offered places at several Ivy League colleges as well. What I'm wondering is - how long does medical school take after you finish your undergrad degree in the States, and after that what do you do (NHS PRHO/SHO/SpR equivalents...) to become, say, a surgeon in a hospital? Would it be easier or faster to study in Cambridge then attempt to become a surgeon in the US and how might I do that?

Sorry for the blitz of questions, but I actually have no idea at all about everything and no one over here seems to know. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Loren said:
Apologies if I seem ridiculously ignorant, but I'm confused about how to become a doctor in the US. I'm currently studying in London (UK) and I've received an offer to read medicine at Cambridge, but will possibly be offered places at several Ivy League colleges as well. What I'm wondering is - how long does medical school take after you finish your undergrad degree in the States, and after that what do you do (NHS PRHO/SHO/SpR equivalents...) to become, say, a surgeon in a hospital? Would it be easier or faster to study in Cambridge then attempt to become a surgeon in the US and how might I do that?

Sorry for the blitz of questions, but I actually have no idea at all about everything and no one over here seems to know. Thanks in advance!