bad transcript - any chance? epi of microbes help too...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UH-epi

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! Any advice as to what are the best programs for a M.P.H. in epi of infectious/microbial diseases?
Also, I'm an undergrad with little work experience (I'm starting an internship in genetic/statistical epi at Baylor College of Medicine soon). I have about a 3.5 GPA, Honors coursework, and I'm an anthropology major/biology minor. I will be taking my GRE in October. Problem: I had an absolutly horrible transcript in my first few years of college, and even went to community college for a while - I definitley have some major transcript flaws - how badly will this affect my acceptance into a public health program? Any hope for places like Yale or Columbia?

Members don't see this ad.

Just my $0.02, but I think you'll be fine. I think a 3.5 should be good enough for most MPH programs (maybe not the "top tier" but even then, it might be possible - there were some threads where people discusses their "stats" if you can find them). If you have a bio minor, it might help too if you have good grades in upper level bio classes (especially microbiology since you are interested in infectious disease epi).

As for suggestions of programs, most of your "ranked" MPH programs will have good ID programs. Of the top my head, Harvard/Yale/Berkeley/Hopkins/U Washington of course jump to mind. Emory is a good choice due to its proximity to CDC. Tulane and Hawaii are good in that regard, too, because of they do a lot of tropical medicine epi.

We (U Iowa) do not have a big program in infectious disease yet, but it's growing.