"Bad Medicine" Forbes new cover story

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lisichka

certified demonologist
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've worked in both as a student.
I would say as a patient or physician I would definitely prefer a small private specialty hospital.
-Infectious control was great
-The nursing staff was well staffed and compensated which makes a huge difference.
-In a specialty hospital when you say order a CT the staff has them down in the CT machine in 30 minutes tops, in a general hospital a patient could spend all day waiting for a CT. Don't even get me started on labs:mad:
-Since these hospitals are competing with the large general hospitals they go out of their way to ensure quality is high.

Obviously whenever you have a monopoly be it market or govt generated it's a bad thing. Personally I would lean towards a system of smaller hospitals. They need not all be specialized, as I've seen small general community hospitals run just as efficiently as the specialty hospitals. We can still keep large academic centers in urban areas, but I think the majority of the population could be treated at smaller hospitals.