This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted930626

So I don't want to go into too much detail, but basically I studied full-time for 2 months this summer without any distractions. I got 500 on my first AAMC FL and then 504 on my second AAMC FL (three days before the test).

Just got my score back today and I got a 498... I bombed the science sections but did well on P/S and cars. However, I had never gotten a score below 500 on any of my practice tests (I also took a few Nextstep ones when I first started studying).

Clearly I did something wrong so I'm not really sure what to do now. I'm applying next cycle so at least I have a whole year to retake (on top of my senior year of college) but I'm trying to figure out what I did wrong because I'm feeling super discouraged. I only want MD schools and I know I can get a better score so I'm just disappointed in myself right now. I guess nerves got the best of me?

Does anyone have any tips for retaking? When should I retake? What prep materials should I use? I already did all the Kaplan and Examkracker books.

Any words of encouragement? :(

Members don't see this ad.

Based on your score, I recommend spending more time on content review. I am not a big fan of Kaplan material. I personally used TBR for all prep except for P/S. I used TPR hyperlearning book for CARS and TPR P/S and Khan 300 page for P/S. Also, 2 months, in my opinion is not enough time to study for the MCAT and don't take another course. I recommend taking the summer+a few months off after your senior year and study without any other responsibility, even if that means 2 years off. Don't give up hope. Mentality is key.

Also, MAKE SURE YOU TIME EVERYTHING.

Members don't see this ad :)