Background in Business. How are lab grades integrated and is a post-bacc worth it with a 3.4gpa.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Allopathic2016

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. Newer to SDN. Firstly, my background is in business finance. Looking to do a post-bacc to get my prerequisites under my belt. Excuse my ignorance but how exactly are labs graded? Are they graded completely separate from the lecture? For example, if I take chem I with its accompanying lab, is there one grade for the lecture independent of the lab and vice versa or are they both somehow integrated? I know the lecture is 3 credits and the lab is 1. How do schools view success in a lecture but sub-par performance in a lab, say an A in lecture but a C in a lab course?

My undergrad gpa is a 3.4. I am STRICTLY looking to get into allopathic schools. Do you guys think that with a 3.4 gpa it is even worth spending the money on a post bacc and applying VERY broadly to as many M.D schools that my budget can dictate? I am playing hypothetical here but if I were to do well in a post-bacc say a 3.8-4.0 gpa mixed with some good EC's, would I have a chance at allopathic?