Back up plan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MJHUSKERS

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hopefully this isn't a dumb question, but I'm just curious what everyone's backup plans are if they don't get into PT school the first time?
Reapply again the following year?
Choose a different career path? What career?

I guess since day 1 of school, my advisor told me to have a backup plan in case I don't get into PT school. I guess my back up plan was to go into education system as a teacher or counselor. Anyone else have a backup?

Members don't see this ad.

You may want to check out this thread: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=588792

If you are still early enough in your undergrad career to do the coursework now, I think teaching is a great plan (as long as your heart would really be in it). I majored in bio with secondary ed cert, and it's comforting to know that I always have that career option. It's not just a major, but a career, and there will always be a need for teachers.

I really don't have a plan B. I feel confident I'll get in PT school. If I don't get in this year I plan on reapplying again next year. If I reapply and still don't get in than I'll starting thinking of a plan B but probably wouldn't act on it. I'd simply reapply again. Persistence pays off and you'll get in if you really want to. This is my stance though. Talk to me in three years when I'm still trying to get in. :laugh:

Members don't see this ad :)
I really don't have a plan B. I feel confident I'll get in PT school. If I don't get in this year I plan on reapplying again next year. If I reapply and still don't get in than I'll starting thinking of a plan B but probably wouldn't act on it. I'd simply reapply again. Persistence pays off and you'll get in if you really want to. This is my stance though. Talk to me in three years when I'm still trying to get in. :laugh: