Auvelity, stuff not in the textbooks

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whopper

Former jolly good fellow
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been using it now on patients for months with shockingly good results. The manufacturer alleges 70-80% efficacy with 70-80% going into complete remission with benefits possibly starting day 1. I've seen this happen in front of my eyes with patients taking it and literally 1-2 hours later feeling tremendously better from even severe depression.

I'm posting here because several doctors will not prescribe a brand new med because there may be October surprises with the med with it being so new. I'm posting to start a discussion and to get people more experienced more quickly with this medication.

What I used to like to emphasize when I was a professor was what is useful in clinical practice that's not in the textbooks. Here's what I want to point out.
1-Likely not covered by insurance and IT'S EXPENSIVE.
2-If taken higher than FDA recommended dosages high likelihood of a seizure.
3-If the patient cannot afford the medication, but wants to be on it can they mix Bupropion along with OTC Dextromethorphan?

I'm not finished writing about this but will post this for now because I'm off and on the computer today.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 4 users
I find that it works surprisingly well too. Coverage is a concern as it is a 1k a month med if taken bid..

Members don't see this ad :)
Its tussin is an nmda antagonist, that clears quickly. Bupropion inhibits 2D6, making the nmda receptor antagonism last longer.
<not a doctor or medical student>

That would make it like Nuedexta which uses quinidine for the same effect. Looking this med up, it looks like the bupropion is present in a dose that could be therapeutic on its own, whereas in Nuedexta, quinidine functions solely for enzyme inhibition to potentiate dextromethorphan.

Point #3 from my first post.