August 2017 NAPLEX Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CLN_

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I took the NAPLEX and found out I passed on my first attempt a couple of days ago!!!! First, thank you to everyone who posted about their experiences. I was really nervous about the exam and reading everyone else's experiences about the NAPLEX helped me to prepare and calm down. I want to share my experience in the hopes it will help someone else.

I can not share specifics about the exam but I will share what I did to prepare. I will also not be sharing my class materials because these are copy-righted by my school.

Study Materials:
1) RxPrep
2) RxPrep question bank
3) Class notes (powerpoints, study guides)
4) Various quizlets I found online

Study Duration:
I studied for 2 and 1/2 months in total. During the first month, I was studying casually for about 4-6 hours a day. I studied very intensely for the 2 weeks before my exam from 8 to 12 hours a day.

How I used my study materials:
1) RxPrep book
The first month I just read through the entire book and highlighted. I did not really memorize the material. Through this process I was able to pinpoint what subjects I needed to brush up on. I went through the book a second time and focused on my weak subjects. I focused mainly on memorizing the bolded and underlined material. It is impossible to know everything in the RxPrep book so don't try.

2) RxPrep question bank
For the major disease states, I always took the question bank quizzes before I went through the chapter to see what I retained from school and to pinpoint my weaknesses. After I went through the chapter, I would take the quiz again. I also took the quiz again a couple of days later to see what I retained.

For the other diseases, I only went through the quiz after I read through the chapters.

I would redo quizzes until I got at least an 80% on them.

3) Class notes