August 2017 MCAT for 2019-2020 application cycle: which schools would take my score?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Does anyone have the lowdown or a quick summary of which schools would and would not accept my scores? I actually very much want to retake but I scored a 515 and was strongly previously advised not to retake by several people.

Members don't see this ad.

Do an SMP and then apply MD. Don't retake the MCAT.

Reactions: 1 user
ugh, not everyone in this forum can afford an SMP. I'm paying $7k for a 1-year MS in Biochemistry as opposed to $22-50k for an SMP catered to rich students.

also, as a low-income student, I would feel less socially excluded at a DO school. DO schools have a higher proportion of lower-income students. Also, in my experience and my friends' experiences, DO physicians are more compassionate and have better bedside manner towards disadvantaged, lower-income or LGBT populations than MD physicians. I'm not interested in MD schools currently.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
also, when you say "don't retake the MCAT" -- is that because of the risk of not getting a 515 on the second try, or because a retake looks bad? I am aiming for a 518+ on my retake. I took the MCAT after only seriously studying for one week and I took it sleep-deprived after spending all previous night in the ER. I feel like if I actually studied as opposed to winging it I would actually get a higher score.

Last edited:
also, when you say "don't retake the MCAT" -- is that because of the risk of not getting a 515 on the second try, or because a retake looks bad? I am aiming for a 518+ on my retake. I took the MCAT after only seriously studying for one week and I took it sleep-deprived after spending all previous night in the ER. I feel like if I actually studied as opposed to winging it I would actually get a higher score.