Audiology admissions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yisel2118

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am very interested In the Doctor of audiology program at Nova South Eatern university, I applied for the program recently for the entering class of 2012 however, my major is in Criminal Justice with a minor in Forensic Science. Until recently my plan was to get into law school but after a full time job experience with an attorney, I decided that It was not for me. I graduated with a 3.3 GPA. :(. Can anyone tell me my chances of getting into NOVA and about their admissions process, I have not heard from them yet, my application is still pending.......

Thank you !!:)

Members don't see this ad.

Its kind of hard to determine your chances because grades are only a part of the decision making process. Someone with a 3.3 may be able to get into the top schools and someone with a 3.3 may not get in anywhere. It depends on the other factors (SOP, recs, relevant experience and GRE). Some of these factors may matter more than others depending on the program.

Thank you ! I am just concern because I don't have a background in Rehab- science.

Members don't see this ad :)
Half my AuD cohort comes from non Speech and Hearing backgrounds. I wouldn't be particularly concerned about your non Speech and Hearing background as most programs prefer diversity of academic (or otherwise) backgrounds in their students. However, you will have to go out of your way to write an excellent SOP that conveys your interest in Audiology and what YOU can bring to the field, clinically, as a result of your own personal insight (academic background, personal experience etc).

Do you have any audiology related experience?

Last edited: